12 Silk Handkerchiefs CD




12 Silk Handkerchiefs is a moving song-cycle written in 2017 by internationally acclaimed singer-songwriter Reg Meuross. Six songs threaded with a powerful narration by the author of ‘The Headscarf Revolutionaries’, Brian W Lavery, to create a multi media show and a CD recording. Meuross tells the story as only he can, with beautifully crafted lyrics and melodies that touch the soul, of Hull’s 1968 triple trawler disaster and the subsequent uprising led by fighting fishwife Mrs Lillian Bilocca, demanding greater safety on the trawlers.

The show previewed 50 years on from the tragedies in Hull two sell out audiences at the Kardomah 94, and there was not a dry eye in the house. Almost every single person in that room had lost somebody in those disasters and as one audience member said “I feel as if these songs and this show have given us a voice”. It was this that inspired Reg to record the CD and to take the show on the road. In the full show tour in Autumn 2019 Reg is joined on stage by Hull musicians Sam Martyn and Mick McGarry, as well as Brian W Lavery, author of the book ‘The Headscarf Revolutionaries’ which inspired the songs. TICKETS AND INFO HERE.


1.  Wash Her Man Away (narration) 1:21:47  

2.  Wash Her Man Away (song – Lead Vocal: Mick/ Harmony & Harmonium: Sam/Guitar: Reg) 4:23:09

3.  I Am a Fish House Woman (narration) 1:36:19

4. I Am a Fish House Woman (song – Lead Vocal & Harmonium: Sam/Harmony: Mick/Dulcimer & Harmony: Reg) 5:37:47

5. John Barry Rogers (narration) 2:16:15

6. John Barry Rogers (song – Lead Vocal: Mick/Harmony & Harmonium: Sam/Guitar Reg) 4:23:03

7. The Man The Sea Gave Back (narration) 1:12:27

8. The Man The Sea Gave Back (song – Lead Vocal: Reg/Harmony & Flute: Sam/ Harmony: Mick) 5:03:05

9. Sleep You Safely (narration) 2:46:37

10. Sleep You Safely (song – Lead Vocal & Harmonium: Sam/Guitar: Reg/Harmony: Mick) 3:57:05 

11. 12 Silk Handkerchiefs (narration) 1:36:00

12. 12 Silk Handkerchiefs (song – Lead Vocal: Reg/Harmony & Harmonium: Sam/Harmony: Mick)  3:43:47 

13. Time & Tide (poem by Brian Lavery read by Mick) 2:17:00

Music written by Reg Meuross and performed by Reg with Sam Martyn and Mick MaGarry. 

All narration by Brian W Lavery.

Reg Meuross Singer Songwriter Storyteller